Empowering Tomorrow's Surgeons

Medal Winners

The Association's most prestigious prize is awarded to the highest-scoring oral abstract presentation at the ASiT Medal Session at our annual conference.

The winner is also invited to present their work at the Association of Surgeons of Great Britain and Ireland (ASGBI) International Surgical Conference.

2024- Amanda Godoi

2024 Winner

2024- Amanda Godoi

Optimal Timing For Endovascular Aortic Repair in Patients with Blunt Thoracic Aortic Injury: A Systematic Review and Meta-analysis
View Winner
2023 - Faisal Nawaz

2023 Winner

Faisal Nawaz

External Validation of the IDENTIFY Risk Calculator for Predicting Urinary Tract Cancer in Patients With Haematuria
View Winner
2022 - Eleanor James

2022 Winner

Eleanor James

Transforming the Morbidity and Mortality Review Process: Customised Digitalisation Helps Us Learn from Mistakes
View Winner
2021 - Arwel Poacher

2021 Winner

Arwel Poacher

The Four Year Clinical and Economic Impact of an Extended Screening Program for Developmental Dysplasia of the Hip in Cardiff and Vale University Health Board
View Winner
2020 - Aliyah Hussein

2020 Winner

Aliyah Hussein

Risk factors for retrieved but not transplanted deceased donor livers in the UK: a national registry analysis
View Winner
2019 - William Bolton

2019 Winner

William Bolton

Gas Insufflation Less Laparoscopic Surgery (GILLS) for minimally invasive surgery in low-resource settings: Methods for evaluating surgical field of view (FOV) and abdominal wall lift (AWL) force - A Cadaveric Study Model
View Winner
2018 - Sandeep Nayar

2018 Winner

Sandeep Nayar

Novel Evaluation of a Laparoscopic Appendicectomy Virtual Reality Simulator using Cognitive Task Analysis
View Winner
2017 - Bob Yang

2017 Winner

Bob Yang

First experience in the United Kingdom with the novel sublingual vaccine Uromune® in the treatment of women with recurrent Urinary Tract Infections
View Winner
2016 - Esther J Campbell

2016 Winner

Esther J Campbell

The Combined Endocrine Receptor (CER) is a better discriminator of patient outcome than ER and PR alone
View Winner
2015 - Robert Foley

2015 Winner

Robert Foley

Analysis of pro{-2} PSA: A novel biomarker that significantly improves the election of prostate cancer
View Winner
2014 - Chris Johnson

2014 Winner

Chris Johnson

The role of helminth parasites in achieving immunological tolerance
View Winner